Blogia
On Poetry and Culture Shock

Singing in the rain

Singing in the rain It's raining heavily in my area because hurricane Vince is dangerously close to the Spanish southwest coast. Thankfully, it is losing strenght as it comes closer to us (as a bad lover would do). We had been waiting eagerly for this rain to come, and how happy it makes me reminds me of the classic, Singing in the Rain.

Gene Kelly was the best actor in the world ever, The Actor, because I never found Frank Sinatra or Fred Astaire physically attractive, and as far as I know neither Robert Redford, Paul Newman, or Brad Pitt can sing or dance (Ewan McGregor comes a close second to Gene Kelly, but loses points on lousy dress sense).

These lyrics are interesting because they were calculated to be sung by actors who didn't have exceptional voices, and so the lyrics compliment the natural pattern of the spoken sentence, to make themeasier to sing. Reciting this song as if it was a poem leads you almost naturally to the melody. But no, they are not particularly good lyrics. In this blog entry, the body of Gene Kelly is the poem. Dance on.

I'm singing in the rain
Just singing in the rain
What a glorious feeling
I'm happy again
I'm laughing at clouds
So dark up above
The sun's in my heart
And I'm ready for love

Let the stormy clouds chase
Everyone from the place
Come on with the rain
I've a smile on my face
I'll walk down the lane
With a happy refrain
Singing, singing in the rain

I'm singing in the rain
Just singing in the rain
What a glorious feeling
I'm happy again
I walk down the lane
With a happy refrain
I'm singing, singing in the rain
singing in the rain

0 comentarios