Blogia
On Poetry and Culture Shock

Jaime Galbarro

I have met Jaime Galbarro once or twice. He corresponds with the stereotype of the young Spanish poet: has studied a Humanities degree (in his case, I think Spanish Literature and Linguistics), is influenced by Spanish surrealism and Spanish romanticism, and his poems are confessional, intimate, personal, lyrical, and erotic. The differences between these young poets are given by the balance between how much Surrealism and how much Romanticism they have. Too much Bécquer-like romanticism and they are booooring and even cheesy. Too much surrealism and they are not enjoyable, but locked inside their own incommunicable poetic language.

I dislike these poets because they are interchangeable and predictable, and because, as I have said so many times, I don't normally like poetry that gives an emphasis to content over form, specially if the content is real, intimate feeling. Jaime Galbarro is an exception, and I love and treasure the book that I have from him. Maybe it's just that I have read him with patience and care. The English translation is a bit free.

Tenía sin saberlo la vida por delante
pero el miedo era una palabra
pesada, demasiado grande para
llevarla siempre dentro de la boca

I was unaware of having life to look forward to
but fear was a heavy
word, too large to
always be carried inside the mouth.

4 comentarios

afgano y español -

ENHORABUENA POR ESE LIBRO QUE HA LLEGADO A AFGANISTAN Y SE COMENTA EN BASTANTES O EN ALGUNAS OCASIONES.YA SABES QUERIDO HERMANO :AGUA TRANSPARENTE TRAS LOS CRISTALES DE MI MENTE ALLI ME ESPERA PACIENTE MI POESIA FLORECIENTE.
ALEJANDRO GALBARRO (AFGANISTAN HERAT)
LA DURA BATALLA DIARIA DE ESTE MUNDO NO ME CONSEGUIRA VENCER.
ABRAZOS.

afgano y español -

ENHORABUENA POR ESE LIBRO QUE HA LLEGADO A AFGANISTAN Y SE COMENTA EN BASTANTES O EN ALGUNAS OCASIONES.YA SABES QUERIDO HERMANO :AGUA TRANSPARENTE TRAS LOS CRISTALES DE MI MENTE ALLI ME ESPERA PACIENTE MI POESIA FLORECIENTE.
ALEJANDRO GALBARRO (AFGANISTAN HERAT)
LA DURA BATALLA DIARIA DE ESTE MUNDO NO ME CONSEGUIRA VENCER.
ABRAZOS.
ALEJANDRO3XL@MAILPERSONAL.COM

la Guiri -

De nada, es un placer. La verdad es que me sorprende que te guste porque normalmente me dedico a poner a caldo a nuestra generación de poetas, y no me corto en decir que ese "neosurrealismo erótico-sentimental" me deja fría. Menos en tu caso y algún otro muy contadito.

¿has publicado más cosas? La escalera del viento me sabe a poco y quiero más :)

Jaime Galbarro -

Encontré este post por puro azar, como tantas otras cosas...
Gracias, Eugenia, de verdad.