Blogia
On Poetry and Culture Shock

Bukowski 2

I once mentioned here that my second-hand Bukowski's Play the Piano Drunk Like a Percussion Instrument Until the Fingers Begin to Bleed a Bit was missing a page. Someone sent me the poem, so here it is. I like it because I think it is about lack of communication, and also a very philosophical matter put in very Bukowskian terms: what's more important and urgent, an emotional (spiritual, mental) problem, or a material one?  

I am dying of sadness and alcohol
he said to me over the bottle
on a soft Thursday afternoon
in an old hotel room by the train depot.

I have, he went on, betrayed myself with
belief, delude myself with love
tricked myself with sex.

the bottle is damned faithful, he said,
the bottle will not lie.

meat is cut as roses are cut
men die as dogs die
love dies as dogs die,
he said.

listen, Ronny, I said,
lend me 5 dollars.

love needs too much help, he said.
hate takes care of itself.

just 5 dollars, Ronny.

Hate contains truth. beauty is a facade.

I'll pay you back in a week.

stick with the thorn
stick with the bottle
stick with the voices of old men in hotel rooms.

I aint's had a decent meal, Ronny, for a couple of days.

stick with the laughter and horror of death.
keep the butterfat out.
get lean, get ready.

Something in my gut, Ronny, I'll be able
to face it.

To die along and ready and unsurprised,
that's the trick.

Ronny, listen--

that majestic weeping you hear
will not be for
us.

I suppose not, Ronny.

The lies of centuries, the lies of love,
the lies of Socrates and Blake and Christ
will be your bedmates and tombstones
in a death that will never end.

Ronny, my poems came back from the
New York Quarterly.

That is why they weep,
without knowing.

Is that what all that noise is, I said,
my god shit.

^^^^^^^^^^

Conté una vez que me había comprado un libro de Bukowski,  de segunda mano, y no me di cuenta hasta que llegué a mi casa de que le faltaba una página, y que en el índice, alguien había escrito a lápiz "se lo di a Steve Daniels la víspera de irse a Bulgaria en el Ritz. Agosto 1995. El poema es imposible de encontrar por google (bueno, hasta ahora) y finalmente alguien que tenía el libro entero me lo mandó por email. Me gusta porque creo que trata sobre la incomunicación. Y además, ¿qué problemas son más graves, los espirituales o los materiales? 

Me muero de tristeza y alcohol,
Me dijo agarrado a la botella
En una suave tarde de jueves
En una vieja habitación de hotel
Junto al cementerio de trenes.

Me he, siguió, traicionado a mí mismo con
Creencias, me he engañado con amor,
Me he estafado con sexo.

La botella es sincera de cojones, dijo,
La botella no miente.

Se corta carne como el que corta rosas
Los hombres mueren igual que los perros
El amor muere como un perro,
Dijo.

Oye, Ronny, dije yo,
préstame cinco dólares.

El amor necesita demasiada ayuda, dijo.
El odio se las apaña solo.

Sólo cinco dólares, Ronny.

El odio contiene la verdad. La belleza es una fachada.

Te los devuelvo en una semana.

Hazle caso a la espina.
Hazle caso a la botella.
Hazles caso a las voces de viejos en habitaciones de hotel.

No he comido nada en dos días, Ronny.

Quédate con la risa y el horror a la muerte.
No comas grasas.
Adelgaza, prepárate.

Con que coma algo, Ronny, podré
enfrentarme a esto.

Morir estando preparado, que no te coja de sorpresa,
Ahí está el truco.

Ronny, escucha...

Ese llanto majestuoso que oyes
No es por
Nosotros.

Supongo que no, Ronny.

Las mentiras de siglos, las mentiras de amor,
Las mentiras de Sócrates y Blake y Cristo
Serán tus compañeras de cama y lápidas
En una muerte sin final.

Ronny, me han devuelto los poemas
Que mandé al New York Quarterly.

Por eso lloran,
Sin saberlo.

Por eso hay tanto ruido, dije,
Dios mío, mierda.

2 comentarios

Nia -

pues no, no me dio tiempo porque la quitaron del cine. Ya la pillaré por ahí.

JoseAngel -

¿Viste la peli sobre Bukowski? Debía ser un poquito en la línea del poema.