Blogia
On Poetry and Culture Shock

Happy birthday, Bono

Phew, talk about a sense of loss. Today is the birthday of one of the heroes of my adolescence, Bono, the U2 singer. The thing is, I had a very late adolescence. U2 appeared when I was three years-old. They started to be very good when I was about ten. I would have loved them had someone introduced them to me, but since my musical tastes were dictated by my father and TV, and none of them was a U2 fan, I didn't even knew they existed. What with one thing and another, I survived for 17 years or so without U2. I became obsessed with them in the way only people in their early teens should be allowed to, and somewhere between me overcoming my crush on three of the band members, and Bono losing his voice (some time near his 40th birthday he woke up sounding as if he had a cold and it hasn't improved ever since), and the band losing track of why there were good in the first place, it's not that I don't like them any more, but that I don't like anything they've done in ten years. I do listen to the old songs. 

Probably the most significant thing I can say is that as I take a look to an online discography, I can't find a song, that I really feel like posting here as if it was poetry. Most of them don't work when read, they suffer from the "brilliant-line-lost-in-mediocre-song" syndrome, and all the best lines are overused. As I read I find the lyrics of a song I didn't like very much, back then. Now that I read the lyrics they seem to be spoken by one of those very cruel lovers that get tired of you but don't say so, leaving you waiting for a reassurance or a break-up that never come. Enjoy.  

Haven't seen you in quite a while
I was down the hall, just passing time.
Last time we met it was a low-lit room
We were as close together as a bride and groom.
We ate the food, we drank the wine
Everybody having a good time except you.
You were talking about the end of the world.

I took the money, I spiked your drink
You miss too much these days if you stop to think.
You led me on with those innocent eyes
And you know I love the element of surprise.
In the garden I was playing the tart
I kissed your lips and broke your heart.
You, you were acting like it was the end of the world.

In my dream, I was drowning my sorrows
But my sorrows they'd learned to swim
Surrounding me, going down on me
Spilling over the brim
Waves of regret and waves of joy.
I reached out for the one I tried to destroy.
You, you said you'd wait till the end of the world.

 

0 comentarios