Blogia
On Poetry and Culture Shock

Spices & fibs.

Este es mi primer "fib", un poema con una secuencia silábica 1-1-2-3-5-8. En español es más difícil que en inglés, pero como "pimienta verde" son cinco sílabas, escribí el fib alrededor de esa línea. Y luego pensé que si son cinco sílabas podía hace un haiku gemelo. 

Sí,

Ya,

Esto

Sabe bien

Pimienta verde

Sal, laurel, y muchos besos.  

 

Pero también:

 

Pimienta verde.
Me besas en la cocina.

Esto sabe bien.  

 

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

 

The example above, in Spanish is my first attempt at a fib. Fibs in Spanish are hard because Spanish has very few one-syllable words, but I wanted to try because "green pepper", the spice not the vegetable, is "pimienta verde", in Spanish, five syllables. I tried to write a fib around that line, with a twin haiku. This would be the translation:

 

Yes,

now 

this dish

is tasty

lovely green pepper

with salt, laurel, and your kisses.  

 

Lovely green pepper.

You kiss me in the kitchen.

Yes, this is tasty.  

2 comentarios

Brian -

I like both versions, though the Spanish flows better.

Crafty Green Poet -

I enjoyed reading this, Nia. The last line particularly.