Blogia
On Poetry and Culture Shock

On cancer

This is part of a cycle now, but I don't want to post the whole thing. I composed it about a month after Martyn Bennett 's death.

I think that the definition of cancer as cells which have forgotten how to die was made by a Spanish researcher, but I had it from my mother, a doctor. This means that my bleakest line is stolen from a scientist.

Worse than loneliness,
There’s frailty and fear
When cells forget how to die.

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

Ahora esto es parte de un ciclo, pero no lo quiero poner entero. Lo compuse más o menos un mes después de la muerte de Martyn Bennett. Creo que la definición del cáncer como células que no saben morirse la hizo un investigador español, pero yo la conozco a través de mi madre, que es médico. En cualquier caso, eso significa que el verso más deprimente que tengo se lo he robado a un científico.

Peor que la soledad,
La fragilidad y el miedo.
Células que se olvidan de morir.

 

0 comentarios