Blogia
On Poetry and Culture Shock

Hurricane March 11th

I take back some of what I said yesterday. Conservative governments not always behave the same way in a national emergency.

I apologise for not giving any sources. Yesterday's news said that the security forces that forcing people in New Orleans to evacuate, and keeping control of the refugee camps, are also in charge of detecting illegal immigrants in order to kick them out of the country.

Very soon after the terrorist attack in Madrid's trains on March 11th, 2004, the Spanish government had the only humanitarian gesture that I know of in their eight years in power. All the illegal immigrants in the trains that had been injured or dead, and their closest relatives in the country including unmarried couples, were automatically made legal residents.

Once again the American government has lost a chance of doing something kind. Why am I culture-shocked... but not at all surprised?

0 comentarios