Blogia
On Poetry and Culture Shock

A song for a Sunday morning

Lou Reed and the Velvet Underground have much better songs than “Sunday Morning”, but I’m in the mood for drug music. This little one here is weird because it sounds like a Beach Boys ballad, all soft and sweet, but the lyrics are about the paranoia and depression that people get as the effects of some drugs wear off.

Sunday morning, praise the dawning
It’s just a restless feeling by my side
Early dawning, Sunday morning
It’s just the wasted years so close behind
Watch out, the world’s behind you
There’s always someone around you who will call,
“It’s nothing at all!”
Sunday morning, and I’m falling
I have a feeling I don’t want to know
Early dawning, Sunday morning
It’s just the streets you crossed not so long ago.
Watch out, the world behind you
There’s always someone around you who will call,
“It’s nothing at all!”

0 comentarios