Blogia
On Poetry and Culture Shock

Is erotic haiku possible?

At first my prose was erotic, and my poetry wasn't. Of course I wrote about love, desire, longing, but even when I was writing about lust, it didn't mean my poems were erotic. I didn't keep the two things separated on purpose: it was a question of the limitations of haikus. What can you tell in two or three lines? You can describe a body, or desire, or a climax, or afterglow, but you need to choose one. And while conciseness is a very good thing, the poem is over before you have time to feel anything! That's why the first poem of mine that I considered erotic entirely, from intention to result, was free verse. And that's maybe why I keep telling different love stories rearranging the same haikus in different orders: because I cannot write erotic prose anymore, and I miss it.

These wee ones here are not a cycle. They are some of the isolated haikus that either in intention, result, or allusion have some eroticism in them. Enjoy.

An old friend, rediscovered.
Suddenly, his sweat smells good.

I like your blond skin
I want your blond smile.
I'm looking for some blonde fun.

I chew the brightness of pain with pleasure.
My body is full of you now.

Brunette and blonde hide.
No longer children.
Forbidden games are always best.

The senses tanka. after e. e. cummings.

In your slow caress,
your heartbeat makes my music.
Not just my eyes love
Your scent of salt, blood and sweat,
your pretty red chilli lips.

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^ 

Al principio mi prosa era erótica, y mi poesía no. Por supuesto que escribía sobre el amor y el deseo, pero incluso en el estado de ánimo más lujurioso esto no significaba que los poemas fueran eróticos. Yo no conservaba las dos cosas separadas intencionadamente; era sólo una cuestión de las limitaciones propias del haiku. ¿qué se puede decir en dos o tres líneas? Puedes decribir un cuerpo, o un deseo, o un momento sexual, pero necesitas escoger sólo uno. Y a pesar de que la concisión puede ser una cosa estupenda, ¡el poema se ha acabado antes de que tengas tiempo de sentir nada! por eso el primer poema que escribí que me pareció erótico de principio a fin, desde su inspiración hasta el resultado, es verso libre. Y también puede que sea por eso que cuento diferentes historias reordenando los mismos haikus de forma diferente: porque ya nome sale escribir prosa erótica, y lo echo de menos. 

Estos chiquitines de aquí no son un ciclo. Sólo son algunos de los haikus aislados que en intención, alusión o resultado tienen algún rastro de erotismo. Espero que os gusten.

Antiguo amigo, redescubierto:
De repente, su sudor huele bien.

Me gusta tu rubia piel
Me atrae tu rubia sonrisa
Quiero divertirme rubiamente.

Mastico la luminosidad del dolor con placer.
Ahora mi cuerpo está lleno de ti.

Una morena y una rubia.
Ya no son niñas.
Los juegos prohibidos siempre son los mejores.

 En tu lenta caricia,
Los latidos de tu corazón son mi música.
No sólo mis ojos aman
Tu olor a sangre, sudor y sal,
tus labios de chile rojo.

5 comentarios

Nia -

Thanks for the link, Crafty :) I was going to read it anyway because I have all your blogs on bloglines ;)

Crafty Green Poet -

Hi Nia, you may be interested to read my review of the French erotic haiku, a version will appear soon on the New Hope international website but for now you can see a slightly different version on my Alter Ego blog at: http://foundcraftygreenart.blogspot.com/2006/12/lerotique-collection-of-french-erotic.html

Crafty Green Poet -

I liked reading your poems there, especially the senses tanka. Your question is very interesting, particularly as I have just been sent a book of erotic haiku in French to review! But a haiku can give a glimpse of something so my first thought is that a haiku can certainly be erotic.

Nia -

curioso que lo digas, Bluething, porque todos estos son de antes de que empezara a a escribir habitualmente en español. Todas las versiones en español son traducciones.