Blogia
On Poetry and Culture Shock

On hands again

I know, I know , I’m obsessed and I’ve already exhausted the topic. But still.

The poet’s natural tendency is to edit once and again. My natural tendency is to edit the cycles and the poems' order rather than their words (they have too few words: change one word and you have a different poem!). Most of my haiku cycles are the result of recycling individual poems. The Hands Cycle used to be called “Four Lovers, Four Hands” and I thought of it as four completely separate vignettes. Now that I have one sad poem about hands, I have added it to the cycle and changed the order so that it tells a story.

I’ve said that initially this was about four lovers; for those of you that want a bit of gossip, the inspiration for the first and fourth poems were fantasies on strangers; the second is how I think someone used to feel about me (the hands are mine); the third and fifth are autobiographical, on different people. 

1

Cream on my coffee.
Silver on his hands.
Who could give him all those rings?

2

I look at your wrist.
Pink veins through transparent skin.
A road map to love.

3
Old feeling made new,
Hands firm on my back.
They show anything’s possible.

4
Five rays of light shine,
Your fingers on my cream skin.
Too much of them stings.

5
Our tangled hands are dry
but they hold a slippery love,
Too fragile to last. 

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^ 

Ya lo sé, ya lo sé, he agotado el tema, pero me da igual. Más poemas sobre manos.

La tendencia natural del poeta es reescribir, reeditar. My tendencia es editar los ciclos y el orden de los poemás más que sus palabras: ¡los haikus andan bastante cortos de palabras, y cambiar una palabra es cambiar el poema entero! Casi todos mis ciclos de haikus son resultado de reciclar y agrupar poemas que en principio eran independientes, y eso es lo que pasa con éste. Antes se llamaba "Cuatro Amantes, Cuatro Manos" y eran cuatro viñetitas totalmente independientes. Pero más adelante, escribí (no: la vida escribió para mí) un haiku triste en el que salían manos, así que lo añadí al ciclo y cambié el orden para que los cinco contaran una historia.

Para los que quieran cotilleo, la inspiración de las estrofas primera y cuarta fueron perfectos desconocidos. La segunda es cómo creo que se sentía alguien por mí (las manos son mías). La tercera y la quinta son autobiográficas. 

 

Nata en mi café
Plata en sus manos.
¿Quién le habrá regalado todos esos anillos?

Miro tu muñeca.
Venas rosas, piel transparente.
Un mapa de carreteras del  amor.

Un sentimiento antiguo, renovado.
Manos firmes sobre mi espalda.
Todo es posible.

Cinco rayos de luz brillan,
Tus dedos sobre mi piel de nata.
En exceso, queman.

Nuestras manos secas
sostienen un amor resbaladizo,
demasiado frágil para durar.

 

0 comentarios