Blogia
On Poetry and Culture Shock

The Archaeopteryx's Song by Edwin Morgan

Another poem about wanting to fly, after Pink Floyd's "Nobody Home".  Edwin Morgan is a Scottish poet that I know too little of.

I am only half out of this rock of scales.
What good is armour when you want to fly?
My tail is like a stony pedestal
and not a rudder. If I sit back on it
I sniff winds, clouds, rains, fogs where
I'd be, where I'd be flying, be flying high.
Dinosaurs are spicks and
all I see when I look back
is tardy turdy bonehead swamps
whose scruples are dumb tons.
Damnable plates and plaques
can't even keep out ticks.
They think when they make the ground thunder
as they lumber for a horn-lock or a rut
that someone is afraid, that everyone is afraid,
but no one is afraid. The lords of creation
are in my mate's next egg's next egg's next egg,
stegosaur. It's feathers I need, more feathers
for the life to come. And these iron teeth
I want away, and a smooth beak
to cut the air. And these claws
on my wings, what use are they
except to drag me down, do you imagine
I am ever going to crawl again?
When I first left that crag
and flapped low and heavy over the ravine
I saw past present and future
like a dying tyrannosaur
and skimmed it with a hiss.
I will teach my sons and daughters to live
on mist and fire and fly to the stars.

Estoy a medio salir de esta roca escamosa.
¿para qué sirve una armadura, si quieres volar?
Mi cola es como un pedestal de piedra,
En vez de un timón. Si me siento sobre ella
Huelo vientos, nubes, lluvias, nieblas donde
Yo podría, podría volar, volar alto.
Los dinosaurios son imbéciles y
Lo único que veo cuando miro alrededor
Son torpes idiotas en ciénagas
Que miden todo por toneladas.
Malditas placas y escamas
Que no pueden ni aislar de los mosquitos.
Creen que cuando hacen atronar el suelo
Al abalanzarse para pelearse o copular
Que alguien tiene miedo, que todos tienen miedo, P
ero nadie tiene miedo. Los señores de la creación
Están en el siguiente huevo del siguiente huevo del siguiente huevo de mi compañero,
El estegosaurio. Yo lo que quiero son plumas, más plumas,
Para la vida que nos queda. Y estos dientes de hierro
Ojalá los perdiera, y tuviera un pico liso
Que cortara el aire. Y estas garras
En las alas, ¿para qué sirven
Aparte de estorbo, es que te piensas
Que voy a volver a reptar en mi vida?
La primera vez que dejé el risco
Y sobrevolé el valle, pesadamente
Vi el pasado, el presente y el futuro
Como un tiranosaurio moribundo
Y pasé de largo con un siseo.
Voy a enseñar a mis hijos e hijas a vivir
De la niebla y el fuego, y volar a las estrellas.

3 comentarios

Jordan Trunner -

Awesome information. Thank you for posting and keep up the good work. I'll be following your blog closely from now on! :-)
Jordan Trunner

JoseAngel -

Me parece que los humanos somos como un archaeopteryx, dice Morgan, camino de algo mejor. Pero mejor disfrutar de lo que hay, ¿no? Por si no diyievolucionamos.

Crafty Green Poet -

Hi Nia, It\\\'s great to see you posting Edwin Morgan. He is one of the greatest Scottish poets, he has such range. I don\\\'t have any of his collections unfortunately but I\\\'ve seen him reading a couple of times.