Blogia
On Poetry and Culture Shock

A little lullaby

A lullaby for everyone who is waiting for better times. And it comes with a little story, too.

Once upon a time there was a young woman who had done many different creative things, always as part of one collective or another. One day she got tired of the well-known faces, she thought she needed to find her own voice, and forced herself to change. She moved to a different country where everything, language, climate, everything, was different. The culture shock was extremely painful, or at least that is the way she remembers it. She made few, but good friends. Our of her pain and homesickness she created with their help something beautiful, unique, that at the time seemed small. Being a sincere and original work, it became (relatively) successful. I’m talking about Björk.

Björk has done few things that were as good as her first album. Some of her later songs are better than any individual song in "Debut", but as a whole this is probably the best one. This is my favourit song out of it; it’s so straightforward that I don’t think it needs a translation.

one day
it will happen
one day, one day
it will all come true

one day
when you're ready
one day, one day
when you're up to it

the atmosphere
will get lighter
and two suns ready
to shine just for you

I can feel it, I can feel it.

one day
it will happen
one day. one day
it will all make sense

one day, one day
you will blossom
one day, one day
when you're ready

an aeroplane
will curve gracefully
around the volcano
with the eruption that never lets you down

I can feel it, I can feel it.

and the beautifullest
fireworks are burning
in the sky just for you

I can feel it, I can feel i.

one day
one day

0 comentarios