Blogia
On Poetry and Culture Shock

The Almudena Grandes effect (How Not to Write 2)

I’m being a bit unfair because as time goes by, Grandes writes better and better, but there we go. Almudena Grandes is a Spanish novelist. As far as I’ve read, all her novels have first person narrators: one of them has four alternating narrators (each narrator a chapter). The problem is that all her narrators, all of them, even the four women in Atlas de Geografía Humana, have the exact same voice.

If you are going to write narrative, please don’t make a teenager and his grandmother use the same register. Don’t be Almudena Grandes and don’t make your readers confused about who is telling what. The moment one of my characters opens his or her mouth, I want the reader to know who’s talking.

Someone criticised my short stories because the female characters are far more articulate than the male ones. I don’t do that on purpose, and I don’t think my women are better or more intelligent/educated than my men; it simply came naturally to make the women resemble me, but with a more ornate expression. The men are a bit like some of my male friends, precisely the ones who express themselves very differently from me. All I have been able to manage so far is to make characters that don’t have all the same voice, although I don’t think my dialogue is good.

2 comentarios

Rilke -

"Someone criticised my short stories because the female characters are far more articulate than the male ones." he sido el único q t ha dicho eso?1 saludo.buen blog(aunq no soy muy aficionado...)

ChicaXL -

Eso me pasaba cuando lei ese libro!! Habia veces que no sabia que personaje estaba hablando, y mas de una vez tenia que volver atras a releer a ver si sacaba quien era...
No he vuelto a leer nada de esta mujer...pero no ha sido a propósito, sólo que por esta cuestión no me llama la atención como autora.