Blogia
On Poetry and Culture Shock

A letter to Martyn

Dear Martyn,

It is hard to admit that nearly two years after you've gone, I find it difficult to accept, so that's where I'll start. I can't believe or accept that you're gone. I miss you a lot, with that hopeless emptiness that comes when we miss what cannot be back. The heart has strange ways. The greatest problem is the way that you went –death I can cope with. It’s the suffering of months of cancer and the idea of you in hospital for days that I can’t take.

Listening to your music is an exercise in bittersweetness. I can't separate the experience of the music with the fact that there won't be any more of it. That is probably why I haven't even bought your first album yet; at first I told myself the reason was that I was afriad of being disappointed by it. The fact is that if and when I ever buy it, the thrill of a brand new Martyn album will be definitely gone forever, and for the moment I can't face that. Not yet. In the meantime, there's the other four albums. I have listened to them so much. Initially to drive and to exercise, sometimes to dance, as you had intended. You were even playing in the background at my last seduction attempt, when I needed the strenght and the hope that only you could give me. I think you'll be glad to know that the seduction worked both ways.

About three millennia The Greek used to think that when bright young people died, it was because the Gods loved them too much, and death was to them a fast route to Olympus. In a world without Greek gods, the idea is still appealing. That's what I want for you: a heaven with angels that dance breakbeat and piobaireacht and joik and mouth music, preferably played at the same time. Keep playing until I get there, okay?

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

 

Es difícil admitir que casi dos años después de que te hayas ido, no lo puedo terminar de aceptar, así que empezaré por ahí. Me niego a creerme o a aceptar que te has ido. Te echo mucho de menos, con esa desesperación y ese vacío por dentro que vienen cuando uno añora lo que se ha ido para siempre. El corazón funciona de una manera muy rara. Lo peor de todo es la forma en que te fuiste: a la muerte la puedo entender. Es el sufrimiento de meses de cáncer, y la idea de que estuvieras en el hospital hecho un lío de cables, la que no puedo soportar.

 

Escuchar tu música es un ejercicio agridulce. No puedo separar la experiencia de la música con la realidad de que ya no va a haber más. Puede que por eso aún no me haya comprado tu primer disco. Al principio me decía que era porque no quería que me decepcionara, pero la verdad es que si me lo compro, ya no habrá más discos tuyos, y no puedo hacer frente a eso todavía. Mientras tanto tengo los otros cuatro discos. Cuántas veces los he escuchado. Para conducir, para hacer ejercicio, a veces también para bailar que es lo que tú pretendías. Estabas hasta sonando de fondo la última vez que seduje a alguien, cuando necesitaba tu apoyo moral. Te gustará saber que además de seducir dejé que me sedujeran, y salió bien.

 

Hace cerca de tres siglos, los griegos pensaban que si alguien joven y brillante moría joven, era porque los dioses lo amaban demasiado, y la muerte era la vía rápida al Olimpo. En un mundo sin dioses griegos la idea aún es atractiva. Eso es lo que quiero para ti: un cielo en el que los ángeles bailen breakbeat, piobaireacht, joik y mouth music, preferiblemente tocados todos a la vez. Sigue tocando hasta que llegue yo, ¿vale?

0 comentarios