Blogia
On Poetry and Culture Shock

Anonymous

I'll introduce you to a revolutionary idea: let's assume that anonymous works of art were created by women. I mean, why not? what says that they couldn't be?

I'm not completely familiar with the Old Testament, but so far this is my favourite Psalm. I cannot judge to what extent it is good poetry or just a prayer I love for personal reason. In any case, this is an extract from Psalm 118, that I have naughtily edited to conform both to a modern English standard (it is a revision of the King James version) and to diminish gender bias (because "do not put your trust in man" nowadays sounds like "do not put your trust in males", which is weird).

O give thanks to Her, for She is good: because Her mercy lasts for ever.
Let Israel now say, that Her mercy lasts for ever.
LLet them now that fear God say, that Her mercy lasts for ever.
I called upon my God in distress: my God answered me, and set me in a large place.
She on my side; I will not fear: what can anyone do to me?
She takes the side of those that help me.
[It is] better to trust in Her than to put confidence in anyone.
My God is my strength, and dance, song, and She's become my salvation.
The voice of rejoicing and salvation is in the tabernacles of the righteous: the right hand of our God is strong
The right hand of our God is exalted.
I shall not die, but live, and declare the works of our God.
My God has punished me sore: but She has not given me over to death.
Open to me the gates of righteousness: I will go into them, [and] I will praise my God.
This gate of God, into which the righteous shall enter.
I will praise thee: for thou hast heard me, and has become my salvation.
The stone which the builders refused is become the headstone of the corner.
This is our God's doing; it is marvellous in our eyes.

 

0 comentarios