Blogia
On Poetry and Culture Shock

I´m home: I´m back to Alan Spence

When I´m away from home for a long period, I miss terribly my copy of Alan Spence's Seasons of the heart, a collection of haikus that goes through the seasons of the year. The weather and the constant references to the beach and the sea make me think it was composed in Aberdeen. Maybe that is why it has very few summer poems, and not a single one of them is dedicated to really warm weather. It is never hot in Aberdeen.

Looking carefully through the volume, I´ve selected two summery poems. Enjoy.

summer evening -
through the open window,
an old song.

A sweet peach
but the last bite
is bitter.

Noche de verano -
por la ventana abierta,
una vieja canción.

Un melocotón dulce
pero el último mordisco
es amargo.

0 comentarios