Blogia
On Poetry and Culture Shock

Mothers to the rescue!

I have the feeling that something's connecting a certain Poet and me.

Last night I had to chase a blackbird out of my living-room. The stupid thing wouldn't leave the room: chased towards a door it would perch on top of furniture. This went on for about half an hour, until I could let a piece of cloth fall on it and I left it outside in the garden.

This morning I could hear an extremely loud chirping. Not a song. Eek-eek. It was very obvious that it was a baby blackbird saying it was hungry: that was why last night's bird wouldn't go. She couldn't leave her baby behind. It took a long search to find the wee one hidden behind a pile of books. Two thirds grown, all the adult feathers on the wings but not yet on the body. It was very easy to wrap it on the same cloth and throw it out on the quietest corner in the garden. A very black blackbird (a male, therefore) immediately flew to the center of the garden and sang very fast and very loud. In a matter of seconds, at least three birds had taken the baby with them, helping it into a bush so that it could hide. I didn't know that territorial animals could be so cooperative.

Classical haiku material.

Catorce madres:
Mirlas al rescate
del pollito caído.

Fourteen mothers:
blackbirds come to the rescue
of the fallen chick.

5 comentarios

Crafty Green Poet -

Hi Nia, yes the more I learn Italian the more I understand Spanish but we are 'prohibited' from learning it because of the confusion it would cause with our Italian!

Nia -

Thanks, Crafty! I think that if your Italian is fluent enough, it's not hard to understand Spanish. The problem is learning it because then you're likely to mix them up. :)

Crafty Green Poet -

What a lovely story! And I can understand that haiku in Spanish!

La Guiri -

Ya lo sé: ni mis amigos me leen con tantas ganas!

maruja de pro -

Ya tienes troll y todo en el blog. Es buena señal,.