Blogia
On Poetry and Culture Shock

On creativity, mediocrity and love.

I posted this four months ago, but things have changed dramatically, so please bear with me and read on.

About two years ago, I attended a sort of conference for poets, with publishers and other interested people. There was a dinner and I had the chance to talk with a few professionals, with amateurs like me, and publishers, and someone quite ruthless said a way of telling apart the bad amateurs from the promising ones. I'm translating as faithfully as I can, and I wish I remembered the person's name: 

Lots of young people write poetry. They are easy to sort out because the mediocre ones stop writing when they get into a steady relationship.

That fits nicely into the usual male-oriented explanations of the creative impulse as something nearly sexual. There is the Sheherezade model: being creative makes you sexy. There is the Sublimation model: you put into creating the energies that you'd put into sex if there was an available partner. There is the Oedipal model: you write because you want to beat your influences (your influences are yourf ather and Art is your mother: apply Oedipus to the triangle.

I have always doubted that this theory applied to me. Not because I believe I am above mediocrity, but because to me writing doesn't make sense if there isn't an audience, and most of the time I write better, or faster, or both, if there is an audience. The truth is, I am on the brink on testing if it does apply. Being in love, as I am right now, leaves me changed for words. There are new things to talk about, but hardly the words to do so. The interesting thing is that I'm not a good writer of love poetry; I know that much. If I'm lucky, the intensity, the sheer joy, will translate themselves in new ways of talking about the usual stuff: my trees, my cities, birds, weather, stranger's hands.  If I am not lucky, well, the world will have lost me as a poet, but I might be too much in love to miss the Muse.

 ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

Hace un par de años, estuve en una especie de congreso o encuentro para poetas, con editores y otros interesados. Hubo una cena bastante informal en la que tuve ocasión de hablar con profesionales (es decir, poetas publicados), aficionados como yo, y gente que no escribe pero sí tiene que ver con el mundillo (editores, políticos que dan subvenciones, y demás). Alguien brutalmente sincero dijo lo siguiente:

 Muchísima gente joven escribe poesía. Es fácil separar a los mediocres de los demás porque los mediocres dejan de escribir en cuanto se echan novia.

 Eso encaja muy bien con las explicaciones habituales del impulso creativo como algo casi sexual. Está el modelo Sheherezade: ser creativo te vuelve sexy. Está el modelo Sublimación: pones en tu arte las energías que dedicarías al sexo, si tuvieras con quién. Está el modelo Edipo: escribes porque quieres ganarle la partida a los artistas que son tus influencias (tus influencias son el padre y el Arte la madre).

 Siempre he dudado de que esa teoría sirviera para mí, no porque piense que estoy por encima de la mediocridad (no es el caso, os lo puedo asegurar), sino porque para mí escribir no tiene sentido si no hay un lector, y si sé que tengo público, siempre escribo mejor, o más rápido, o las dos cosas. Lo que ocurre ahora es que estoy a punto de comprobar si la teoría se me puede aplicar. El amor cambia cómo me llevo con las palabras. Hay cosas nuevas de las que hablar, pero las palabras de siempre no sirven. Lo curioso del caso es que no se me da nada bien la poesía amorosa, eso lo tengo claro. Si tengo suerte, la intensidad, la pura felicidad de ahora se reflejarán en formas nuevas de hablar de lo de siempre: árboles, pájaros, el tiempo, las manos de la gente. Si no tengo suerte, pues bueno, el mundo tendrá una poetisa menos, pero tendré buena compañía y no echaré tanto de menos a la Musa.

1 comentario

Stalker -

I'm almost agree with you, but... it's not when they got a girl, but when they had sex for first time.

I'm the proof myself ;)

See you!