Blogia
On Poetry and Culture Shock

Who cares?

This weekend I have been an ingredient in a cocktail of sun, chlorine, sweat (loads of it), barbecue sauce, geekiness and fun, lovingly blended by Maruja, Fitopaldi , and a bunch of people mostly called Rafa. These are the lyrics of a song that was played more than once, a classic of Spanish 80's techno/rock. Maybe it sounds too simple, too straighforward, but that's exactly the way classic pop lyrics should be. Right, Rafa?

People point at me
with their fingers
talk behind my back
and I don't give a damn.

I just don't care
if I'm different from them
I belong to no one,
owned by no one.

I know they criticise me
I believe they hate me
So much they envy me
Mi life is their pain.

Why is it so?
It's not my fault
My life is their insult

My destiny is whatever
I  decide, whatever
I choose, for me.
Who cares what I do?
Who cares what I say?
I am what I am,
that's how I'll stay, I'll never change. 

Maybe it's my fault
for breaking the norms
but it's too late
I'm not going to change now.

I'll stand to my principles
firmly in my beliefs.

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^ 

Este fin de semana he sido parte de un cóctel de sol, cloro, sudor (a montones), salsa barbacoa, frikismo y diversión, mezclados amorosamente por Maruja, Fitopaldi, y un montón más de gente,  casi todos llamados Rafa. Os dejo un cachito de una canción que sonó muchas veces, para mí un clásico del rock de los 80. Sí, ya sé que es una canción muy simple, pero los clásicos del pop deben ser sencillos. ¿A que sí, Rafa?

Mi destino es el que yo decido,
el que yo elijo para mí.
¿A quién le importa lo que yo haga?
¿A quién le importa lo que yo diga?
Yo soy así, y así seguiré, nunca cambiaré

3 comentarios

maruja de pro -

ozu, k pecha de casi toico to me he pegado...

Fitopaldi -

Tu no serás cartero, no? xDD

Vaya finde! de muerte!!! evidentemente las mejores canciones POP son las más sencillas, las que con pocas palabras y claras dicen lo que tienen que decir.

chache -

Hombre, solo estabamos 2 Rafas, uno de ellos conocido como rositas o el cartero.
Ha sido un finde geniar!